170 teams across 26 cities to compete for the national championship of Red Bull Campus Cricket

India, February 23, 2017: After a spectacular season in 2016, Red Bull Campus Cricket returns to bowl over budding cricketers in the country. Taking the competition up one more notch, the global, T20 college cricket tournament has added two new cities to its roster and will witness the highest participation ever with 170 teams across 26 cities.

Taking place from February 27 to the first week of April, the Red Bull Campus Cricket city qualifiers will start simultaneously in Cochin and Hyderabad. Followed by Kolkata, Mumbai, Baroda, Ahmedabad, Pune, Nagpur, Indore and Goa in the West; along with Jalandhar, Delhi, Jaipur, Jammu, Dehradun, Chandigarh, Lucknow in the North; Chennai, Bangalore, Coimbatore, and Vizag in South; and Kolkata, Guwahati, Ranchi, Bhubaneshwar, Patna, Jamshedpur in the East.  

The winning college from each city will then proceed to the zonal finals. The top two teams from each zone will then compete in the National finals, where the teams will play in the knockout rounds of quarterfinals, semifinals and finals respectively. The National winner will then represent India in the Red Bull Campus Cricket World Series Championship 2017. 

Past winners from India that have gone on to represent the country at the World Championships are Rizvi College, Mumbai; DAV College, Chandigarh; Swami Shraddhanand College, Delhi; and MMC College, Pune. 

Red Bull Campus Cricket is the only global T20 cricket tournament for university cricket teams, serving as an international platform for young and budding cricketers to showcase their talent and hone their skills. The tournament is now in its sixth year. 

WorldChampions from last five editions of Red Bull Campus Cricket are below. 



Venue of World Finals


Business Management School, Colombo

Sri Lanka


TuksCricket, University of Pretoria



TuksCricket, University of Pretoria



DAV College, Chandigarh

Sri Lanka


Rizvi College, Mumbai

Sri Lanka

*This wasthe Asia Cup, a tri-series competition between Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Indianot a World Championship 

Well knownIndian cricketers KL Rahul and Karun Nair have been associated with Red BullCampus Cricket. Today KL Rahul is among the most highly rated opening batsmenin India's next generation of cricketers. In his third Test, Karun Nair becameIndia's second triple-centurion after Virender Sehwag, and only the third manin the game's history to convert a maiden Test ton into a triple. 

At the IPLAuction 2017 on 20th February, known faces from Red Bull CampusCricket have also made their mark. Shashank Singh was sold to Delhi Daredevils,and young UAE batsman Chirag Suri (Delhi born) will represent Gujarat Lionsthis year. 

"RedBull Campus Cricket is very close to my heart because that is where I think Ihave revived myself and my cricket" said Kannaur Lokesh Rahul, the topscorer in the Red Bull Campus Cricket Tournament’s India leg in 2013. "Iremember I had just come out of an injury and was returning to cricket after3-4 months. It was Red Bull Campus Cricket at that time that got me back inshape and through this tournament I have found my way up" said theopening batsman of the Indian National Cricket Team 

In hismessage to the young participants of the Red Bull Campus Cricket 2017 CityQualifiers, KL Rahul said “My message is very clear. Go out there and playsome tough cricket. You want to win in this sport. And there is a spirit of thegame you want to follow, no matter whatever challenge you come up against. Soperform to the best of your ability and play good cricket. Red Bull CampusCricket gives young cricketers a stage to express themselves, and provides afair idea of the profession as they go higher up

  (0)   Comment