Mumbai Rockets beat Bengaluru Blasters 4-1

Bangalore, January 9: Mumbai Rockets continued their great run of form as they beat Bengaluru Blasters 4-1 in Vodafone Premier Badminton League, Season 2 powered by Maruti Suzuki, at the Koramangala Indoor Stadium, here late on Sunday night.

The win not only underlines Mumbai’s tag as one of the firm favorites to win the league but also saw them topple Awadhe Warriors and go to the top of the table. With the score tied 1-1 mid-way into the tie, it was Ajay Jayaram of Rockets and Viktor Axelsen who clashed in the crucial men’s singles match, which was a trump match for the latter. Starting the match, it was a great opportunity for Viktor Axelsen to help his team take crucial 3-1 lead midway into the tie. However, Ajay Jayaram who has been in blistering run of form had other plans and won the match 11-8, 11-9 to not only help his team take the lead but also inflict a negative point on Bengaluru. The match began with Axelsen seizing the initial opportunities to lead the first game but Ajay Jayaram known for his resiliency caught up with the mighty Dane and took the game 11-8. With a game, down and a trump point at stake Axelsen was dominant from the start and raced to a 5-3 lead in no time. But, Ajay Jayaram was patient and let the Dane commit errors and capitalized on his opponent’s mistakes and finally win the game and seal the match and help his team go 2-0 up in the tie. 

In the next match, Sung Ji Hyun from Mumbai Rockets played Cheung Nyan Yi in the women’s singles match. It was a trump match for Mumbai Rockets and Sung ji made full use of the opportunity and won the match 11-7, 11-8 to help her team take an unassailable 4-0 lead over the Blasters and put the tie to bed with a match in hand.

Bengaluru playing in front of their home crowd finallygave their fans something to cheer about as their mixed doubles pair of Ko SungHyun and N. Sikki Reddy won the last match of the tie 11-6, 11-7 againstNipitphon Puangpuapech and Nadiezda Zieba to avoid a humiliation and salvage acrucial point to keep them in contention for the knockouts. 

Earlier in the day, Mumbai Rockets started off on anastounding note as their Men’s singles star beat his compatriot Sourabh Verma4-11, 11-6, 11-3 in a close fought encounter to go 1-0 up. But, Bengalurupulled one back immediately as the men’s doubles duo of Ko Sung Hyun and YeonSeong Yoo beat the Blaster’s pair of Lee Yong Dae and Nipitphon Puangpuapech7-11, 11-7, 5-11.

 With the thumping victory, Rockets are now leading thestandings with 16 points from four ties and have almost sealed their spot inthe knock-outs. Awadhe Warriors are second with 14 points from three matches,while Chennai Smashers are in the third position with 10 points from threeties. Hyderabad Hunters are in the fourth place with nine points in four ties,followed by Bengaluru Blasters with eight points in four ties. The defendingchampions Delhi Acers are lying in the sixth place with six points from fourties.

Points Tally



Tie Played

Total Point


Mumbai Rockets




Awadhe Warriors




Chennai Smashers




Hyderabad Hunters




Bengaluru Blasters




Delhi Acers




Teams: 6

Cities: Delhi,Mumbai,Bangalore,Lucknow,Hyderabad,Chennai

Venues: Delhi,Mumbai,Bangalore,Lucknow,Hyderabad

Dates: January 1-14 ’2017

Broadcast Partner:Star sports - HD 1 & 3 and SS1 & 3

Ticketing Partner:Book My Show 

Format: Best of 3sets with 11 point sets 

No of matches in each Tie:5 

Prize money: 6cr - winner - 3cr, runner up -1.5cr, 3rd and 4th place finish - 75 lakhseach 

  (0)   Comment