Old Student’s Association Hindu College Organizes the 5th Clash of the Invitational Debate

The Old Students’ Association (OSA) of Hindu College was established in 1958. Since its inception, the Association has been active in bringing the eminent alumni of the Hindu College, Delhi on one platform.

The OldStudents’ Association, Hindu College successfully organized the fifthedition of “The Clash of the Titans Invitational Debate” at TheAmphitheatre, India Habitat Centre, New Delhi on 2nd of December, 2017.The alumni of Six prestigious colleges of Delhi University of nationalfame  Miranda House, Lady Shri Ram College, Shri Ram College of Commerce,Indraprastha College, Hansraj College and Hindu College participated in thisgreat debating competition. The debaters tested their debating skill on acontemporary relevant topic: “Indian jobs are not threatened by theFourth Industrial Revolution”. 

Mr.Hardeep Singh Puri,Hon’ble Minister of State (Independent Charge) in the Ministry of Housing andUrban Affairs, Government of India was the chief guest on this occasion. 

The juryconsisted of  Mr. M.K.Venu (Founding Editorof The Wire), Ambassador (Retd.) Mr. Ajai Malhotra (Member, UNHuman Rights Council Advisory Committee, Geneva) & MrShaktiSinha (Director, Nehru Memorial Museum & Library). Eminent Media personality Ms. Kajori Sen, AssistantProfessor of Journalism Practice and Assistant Dean, O.P. Jindal GlobalUniversity was the Moderator. 

The Titans Cup ( Winning Team )  was won by the Hindu College team of Prashant Jha and Ruhi Tiwari Prashant Jha, Hindu College &Jayati Ghosh, Miranda House were declared Joint Winners of The Best SpeakerPrize.

Speaking on the occasion, Mr. Ravi Burman, Secretary,OSA, Hindu College said “We are pleased to organize ‘The 5th Clashof The Titans Invitational Debate 2017’ competition and havedistinguished guests & participants from different walks of life who havebrought laurels to their alma mater through their achievements. The Titans cupdebate is growing in influence each year and this year women speakersout-numbered the men and had a larger number of youthful debaters beingshowcased. We look forward to similar engagements each year. We aregrateful to all the college authorities and the alumni for making this event asuccess”.

Distinguishedorators Ms. Ruhi Tiwari and Mr. Prashant Jha fromHindu College, Ms. Jayati Ghosh and Ms. AnshulikaDubey from Miranda House, Ms. Dakshita Dasand Ms. Rolee Agarwal from LadyShri Ram College, Ms. Mehakpreet Kaur and Mr. Parth Bhavsar from ShriRam College of Commerce and Ms. Anisha Tandon andMs. Vidushi Gupta from Indraprastha College participated in thisunique debate. 

Many eminent Hinduites graced the occasion including  Dr. Anup Wadhawan (IAS), Special. Secretary. Department ofCommerce, Government of India; Mr. Rajiv Jain, Director,Intelligence Bureau, Ministry of Home Affairs;  Dr. Kavita A. Sharma, President, South Asian University;  Mr. RakeshKacker, Director, India Habitat Centre; Ms. Veena Jain, FormerDirector General, DD NEWS,  Ms. Loveleen Tandan,Film Director, I V S Juneja, former President,Delhi Golf Club.

Outstanding Academicians  Dr. Babli Sen Saraf,Principal, IP College; Dr. Pratibha Jolly, Principal, Miranda House; Dr.Suman Sharma, Principal, LSR College, Prof Simrit Kaur, Principal SRCC gracedthe occasion with their presence.

  (0)   Comment