Rotary Club brings together a galaxy of achievers who are presented with McIver Awards

Bangalore, June 1st , 2018: At an awards ceremony Rotary Club of Bangalore announced winners of the McIver Awards. These awardees hail from different backgrounds and organizations but have proven their calibre by contributing to the improvement of others in this city. These role models are an inspiration to the society and deserve the recognition. The Rotary Bangalore McIver Awards are named after the founding President of Rotary Club of Bangalore, Rtn L.J. McIver, ICS. This is Rotary Club’s initiative towards recognizing those who have achieved excellence in their chosen vocation & contributed outstanding service to the society.

The ChiefGuest for the ceremony was the Maharaja of MysoreMaharaja YaduveerKrishnadatta Chamaraja Wadiyar who presented the awards and DistrictGovernor Rtn. Asha Prasanna Kumar graced the occasion with herpresence.

Speaking atthe occasion Rtn Zarir Batha, President Rotary Club of Bangalore said, “TheMcIver Awards are a reminder that there are many among us who work towards thegreater good of the society. As we delved through the list of nominees, werealized that we had to make tough choices while deciding on the mostdeserving. These individuals and corporates touch people’s lives by making apositive difference and each year it is a humbling experience for us. RotaryClub of Bangalore is proud to be in such august company.” 

The winnersof the 9 categories are:

1)Citizen Extraordinaire: Ambassador Nirupama M. Rao. She is a Bangalore citizen and aretired diplomat who has made her city proud and put it up on the InternationalMap.

2)Corporate Citizen Award: Bangalore International Airport Ltd. Represented by ManagingDirector Mr. Hari Marar, A Corporate with high ethical standards. Thiscorporate citizen has made a difference to the lives of its stakeholders andhas touched many lives.

3) Makinga Difference Award: Azim Premji Foundation. Represented by COO Mr. S Giridhar. An NGO thathas provided outstanding service to the community in the field of literacy bycreating a level playing field for the economically challenged.

4) Prideof Workmanship: JavadPoovalappil was awarded as he takes great pride in his work at NIMHANS.

5)Environment Conservation: Dr. AN Yellappa Reddy. This award recognises his significantcontribution in conserving the environment. He is the green warrior whoespouses green economics. He can be the person to convert Bangalore’sincreasing concrete foot print to green cover.

6) YouthIcon: ShreyasGopal is an inspiring role model for the youth of Karnataka. This awardrecognises his immense contribution in the field of cricket.

7)Women's Empowerment: MadhuBhushan is no stranger to activism and fights for citizens’ rights. This awardrecognises her efforts in empowering underprivileged women and educating them.

8) T E AC H Award: UTCAerospace Systems Bangalore. Represented by Managing Director Mr. Chris Rao. TE A C H symbolises Rotary India's mission to make India completely literate.This company has made great strides towards promoting literacy.

9)Community Service Award: Rotary Club of Bangalore OrchardsThis award has beengiven for the most path breaking Community Service Project completed during theyear.

  (0)   Comment