SpiceJet CMD Ajay Singh gets BML Munjal Award 2018

GURUGRAM, April 20, 2018: India’s favourite airline, SpiceJet, was honoured with the ‘BML Munjal Awards 2018’ for ‘Business Excellence through Learning and Development’ at a grand awards banquet held at Taj Palace, New Delhi on April 19, 2018. Ajay Singh, Chairman and Managing Director, SpiceJet, received the prestigious award from Shri Pranab Mukherjee, the former President of India.

The awardsare named after the late Hero Group Chairman and Padma Bhushan Awardee Dr.Brijmohan Lall Munjal. The annual BML Munjal Awards recognize organizationsthat have successfully deployed programs and implemented innovative strategies,processes and systems for learning and development, using people development asa tool to achieve Business Excellence. 

SpiceJet wasawarded for exceptional innovation undertaken towards achieving enhancedcustomer satisfaction and operational efficiency. Focused initiatives likeemphasis on consistency in service delivery and customer retention, resulted inenhanced brand loyalty, while the airline’s pursuit for operational efficiencyhelped it achieve a breakthrough of reducing fuel burn on every flight by 2%. 

“I amhonoured to receive this award. This is a recognition of SpiceJet’s spectacularcomeback and remarkable performance. We have achieved what very few airlines inthe world have managed and I share this award with each and every SpiceJetterwho has been a part of this magnificent journey,” said Mr. Ajay Singh, CMD,SpiceJet. 

 SpiceJet,under the leadership of Ajay Singh, has scripted one of the most remarkableturnaround stories of recent times. From staring at an imminent closure toachieving 12 quarters of profit and a load factor of over 90% every month for35 months in a row (a global aviation record), SpiceJet’s turnaround story hasbeen one which probably has no parallel in the aviation world today. TheSpiceJet stock has emerged as world’s best-performing aviation stock. 

Adistinguished ten-member Jury Panel, which comprised eminent names like Mr.Arun Kumar, Chairman & CEO, KPMG India, Mr. B. Ashok, CMD, Indian OilCorporation, Mr. R.C. Bhargava, Chairman, Maruti Suzuki, Mr. Ashish KumarChauhan,  MD & CEO, BSE Limited, Mr. D K Sarraf, CMD, ONGC LTD. andMr. T.V. Mohandas Pai, Chairman, Manipal Global Education selected the winners. 

The firstquarter of 2018 saw the airline acknowledged with lead industry titles andrecognitions such as the ‘CAPA Chairman’s Order of Merit for Excellence inIndian Aviation Award’ and ‘EY Entrepreneur of the year 2017 for Business Transformation’presented to Mr. Ajay Singh besides SpiceJet being conferred with India’s ‘BestDomestic Airline’ Award at Wings India 2018.

  (0)   Comment