Vijay Sabavath on the top spot

Hyderabad, July 22, 2017. Telangana State Sub Junior Sailing Championships 2017 started with a record 71 entries and winds upto 23 knots to throw two Telangana Sailors at the top of the fleet at the end of two races

Vijay Sabava​thof Pargi who won the practice race sailed consistently at the Telangana StateSub Junior Sailing Championships and hits the top spot after two races with two3rd positions.

The windswere raging strong in the first race and dropped considerably during the secondproving that Vijay can sail across conditions at the top of the fleet.

Vijaystarted sailing at the Yacht Club of Hyderabad just a year ago and is alreadyplaced at the top beating all the top seeds from across India including thethree that have just returned from the World Championships Navyn Prabhakar,Durga Prasad and Neelanand who sailed inconsistently giving Vijay pride ofbeing No. 1 by a margin.

​DurgaPrasad of Telangana however stood at second overall giving both top positionsto Telangana.​

Vijay hailsfrom Pargi district and sails for the Yacht Club of Hyderabad and TelanganaSailing Association and has just been recruited to the Army node at Bangaloreand this will be his last regatta as a Yacht Club sailor.

Lack ofexperience may bring him down given that the fleet has sailors with more than 5to 6 years under their belt and he is still the dark horse that has shown hiscalibre bang on the first day of racing.

​News comingof the third race had Vijay at 4th position and that still has him at top spotat end of day subject to any protest results.​ 

TelanganaState Sub Junior Sailing Championships 2017 is organised by Telangana SailingAssociation and hosted by The Yacht Club of Hyderabad.  The regattais held in partnership with the Olympic Association of Telangana and TelanganaTourism and The Marriott Hotel.   It is the largest sub juniorevent in the country. 71 is a national record over the past 30years and no regatta sailed in the under 16 category has ever attracted so manyentries from across 6 states in the Optimist Class of boat.  TheRegatta will go on till 25th and conclude on the same dayevening where a prize distribution function will be held. 

Resultsat the end of 2 Races

VijaySabavath Telangana 6 Points

Durga PrasadTelangana 10 points

Neelanand      Tamilnadu 12 points

  (0)   Comment