Vivek Chaand Sehgal is the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year 2016

Bengaluru, 27 February 2017 – Vivek Chaand Sehgal of the Motherson Sumi Systems Limited (MSSL), the flagship company of Samvardhana Motherson Group (SMG), was today named the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year 2016. Samvardhana Motherson Group with MSSL has presence in more than 26 countries across six continents and is amongst the top auto-component suppliers across the globe.

The awards were presented by Shri Piyush Goyal, Minister of State (Independent Charge) for the Ministry of Power, Coal, New and Renewable Energy and Mines and Smt. Nirmala Sitharaman, Minister of State (Independent Charge), Ministry of Commerce & Industry, who were the Guests of Honor. Shri Piyush Goyal and Smt. Nirmala Sitharaman also presented awards across nine categories in the presence of over 400 guests including eminent business leaders. 

Vivek Chaand Sehgal will now represent India at the EY World Entrepreneur of the Year Award (WEOY) in Monte Carlo from 7-11 June 2017. The EOY is the only global business award program in the world and is now in its 18th year in India. 

Mr. Nandan Nilekani was honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award for his invaluable contribution to the Unique Identification Authority of India (UIDAI) – the Aadhaar initiative, which is a pioneering citizen identification program, unparalleled in scope and scale worldwide. As the Honorary Advisor to the National Payments Corporation of India (NPCI), he has also helped create the ecosystem for digital financial services in India. He has also played a major role in the growth of the Indian Information Technology industry and is a recipient of the Padma Bhushan, India’s third highest civilian honor, in 2009. 

Winners werealso announced in nine other Award categories: 

EYEntrepreneur of the Year 2016: Winners

·         EYEntrepreneur Of The Year 2016: Vivek Chaand Sehgal

Chairman,Motherson Sumi Systems Limited 

  • Lifetime Achievement: Mr. Nandan Nilekani

Co-founder,Infosys and Former Chairman, Unique Identification Authority of India (Aadharcard) 


·         BusinessTransformation: Dr Abhay Firodia

     Chairman, Force Motors

·         ConsumerProducts & Retail: Chandubhai Virani

Whole timeDirector, Balaji Wafers

·         EntrepreneurialCEO: Uday Shankar

Chairman andChief Executive Officer, Star India

·         FinancialServices: Vishwavir Ahuja

      Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, RBL Bank

·         LifeSciences & Healthcare: Samprada Singh and Basudeo Narain Singh

ChairmanEmeritus, and Executive Chairman, Alkem Laboratories

  • Manufacturing: Hari Mohan Bangur

ManagingDirector, Shree Cement

  • Real Estate & Infrastructure: Vikas Oberoi

      Chairman and Managing Director, Oberoi Realty

  • Services: R Dinesh

      Managing Director, TVS Logistics Services

  • Start-up: Darshan Patel

Chairman andManaging Director, Vini Cosmetics 

RajivMemani, Chairman, EY India, says“Each of our winners this year have taken forwardtheir unique ideas with unwavering determination in the face of adversity. Theyhave taken bold risks and transformed into leading players in their respectiveindustries. Even in a challenging and disruptive business environment, thesevisionary entrepreneurs are continuously creating value, generating jobs andcontributing to building a better working world.” 

Adistinguished nine-member jury led by Dilip Shanghvi, Managing Director,Sun Pharmaceuticals selected the winners. Other Jury members includeSubodh Bhargava, Chairman, Tata Communications; Sanjeev Bikhchandani, ExecutiveVice-Chairman, Info Edge (India) Limited; Naina Lal Kidwai, Chairman, MaxFinancial Services; Uday Kotak, Managing Director, Kotak Mahindra Bank; KalpanaMorparia, Chief Executive Officer, JP Morgan Chase South Asia and India; RishadPremji, Chief Strategy Officer, Wipro; Renuka Ramnath, Managing Director andChief Executive Officer, Multiples Alternate Asset Management and A Vellayan,Executive Chairman, Murugappa Group. 

The Entrepreneur of The Year is the only businessaward to be based on self-nomination and it is now in its 18th year in India. SaysFarokh Balsara, Partner and EOY India Program Leader, “Each ofthe winners this year, with their disruptive ideas and incredible innovationhave demonstrated perseverance and foresight to scale their businesses. Theirstories of courage and ambition are truly inspiring and define the India of todayand tomorrow. We at EY recognise and applaud the entrepreneurial spiritand exceptional achievements of all the winners.”

  (0)   Comment